Sony Announces Prices for Blu-Ray DVD's

vystral

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

This is one piece of tech I won't be buying into.. It's all a con to make us replace our movie collection AGAIN (Jeez.. I've only just managed to replace with DVD from VHS!!) Anyway the change in format is 'supposedly' because the discs are better quality.. but the industry themselves even state that there is no real difference in quality.

CON! CON! CON!

The difference isn't in quality, it is in quantity. The single layer blu-ray discs hold 25 gigs a piece. That's over 2 hours of HD video, or about 13 hours of standard video. Imagine: an entire season of TNG on just 2 or 3 blu-ray discs.

Alas, I am a poor college student who cannot afford blu-ray technology... You'd think someone with experience in all Adobe programs, Macromedia Suite, PHP / SQL, and 3DS Max would be able to get a job real quick. All I need is that piece of paper they call a diploma!!!

The difference isn't in quality, it is in quantity. The single layer blu-ray discs hold 25 gigs a piece. That's over 2 hours of HD video, or about 13 hours of standard video. Imagine: an entire season of TNG on just 2 or 3 blu-ray discs.

yeah, they are bigger because HD uses more capacity, so the reason for the switch is for the 'supposed' increase in quality, not just because they are bigger.

And you think because it'll be on less discs it'll cost less?? NO CHANCE, probably more in fact.. or is it simply capacity that make it attractive? (that's not a very good reason for upgrade) BTW: as I already stated (and this is from industry) the quality difference is negligable, definately not worth buying all new (more expensive) equipment. I've seen HD and DVD side by side and there is honestly very little difference (unless you get anal about it) and no difference at all unless you have an HD TV setup.